Zscaler Data Protection Recognized as a 2023 Product of the Year by CRN

Zscaler Blog

Get the latest Zscaler blog updates in your inbox

Security Research

IPad Beta-Testing Scam

June 25, 2010 - 1 min read

I saw this being spam advertised on Facebook:
ImageTammi Tyler appears to be a throw-away, spam profile used for this campaign.

The bit.ly link takes the follower to: hxxp://www.theigadget.com/?80af9787

Site advertises that you sign-up and beta-test an iPad for 2 months and then get to keep it ... in addition to feeding this spam group with your contact information (step 1 of registration), they also request that you give them your email account password (step 2):

The contact info on the page shows:
The betatestinginc.com domain was recently parked and theigadget.com domain was registered earlier this month, both use privatewhois.net to mask the registration information.


theigadget.com currently resolves to (UKHOST4U), and betatestinginc.com to (NEXT DIMENSION INC).

Googling for the bit.ly link shows it spammed out to Twitter as well:

Remember "if it's too good to be true...

form submtited
Thank you for reading

Was this post useful?

Explore more Zscaler blogs

A cyber criminal shopping for malware
Agniane Stealer: Dark Web’s Crypto Threat
Read Post
Business people walking through a city
The Impact of the SEC’s New Cybersecurity Policies
Read Post
Digital cloud illuminated in blue
Security Advisory: Remote Code Execution Vulnerability (CVE-2023-3519)
Read Post
The TOITOIN Trojan: Analyzing a New Multi-Stage Attack Targeting LATAM Region
Read Post
01 / 02
dots pattern

Get the latest Zscaler blog updates in your inbox

By submitting the form, you are agreeing to our privacy policy.